www.QuakeServers.net Forum Index www.QuakeServers.net

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


A master server? No problem.
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.QuakeServers.net Forum Index -> Setting Up and Configuring Servers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hetman
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:28 pm    Post subject: A master server? No problem. Reply with quote

A working example? The new Master Poland (kubus.rulez.pl:27000).

Assumptions:
  • access to a Linux shell
  • crontab available
  • home dir - /home/user/
  • hostname - master.server.com
  • available and open UDP port 27000
If you don't know what your home folder is, issue the following commands:
Code:
cd ~
pwd

Now the master server:
Code:
cd ~
wget http://surfnet.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/lasange-system/masterserver-0.4.1.tar.bz2
tar jxvf masterserver-0.4.1.tar.bz2
rm -rf masterserver-0.4.1.tar.bz2
mkdir master
cd masterserver-0.4.1
make
cp -t ../master masterserver plugins/libqw.so
cd ../master
touch 27000.sh
touch crontab.sh
touch cron.sh
chmod u+x *.sh

Now you have created the file 27000.sh. You have to add the following lines to it (using your favourite editor, say, nano -w):
Code:
#!/bin/sh
./masterserver -p /home/user/master/ -l /home/user/master/master.log -D >> 27000.log &

Now edit the file cron.sh. Add the following line to it:
Code:
0,10,20,30,40,50 * * * *   /home/user/master/crontab.sh  >/dev/null 2>&1

Now edit the file crontab.sh. Add the following lines to it:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
/bin/ps -ef|/bin/grep "masterserver" || ( cd /home/user/master/ ; /home/user/master/27000.sh )

Now issue the following commands:
Code:
crontab cron.sh
rm -rf cron.sh
./27000.sh

Now your master server is working (master.server.com:27000). If you are using ezQuake, MQWCL, or Qizmo, you can easily add it. For instance, in ezQuake you need to add one line to the file ezquake/sb/sources.txt:
Code:
master "Hellfire" master.server.com:27000
If the ezQuake client is already running, you need to restart it.

If you are also an administrator of some QW servers or Qizmos, you can benefit from adding them to the master. In Qizmo, for instance, you need to modify the command line by adding -r master.server.com:27000 to it. If you are an MVDSV administrator, you need to add the following command:
Code:
setmaster master.server.com:27000

Good luck! Post all your questions here.


Last edited by hetman on Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
mli
Admin (QuakeServers.net)


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice howto hetman!

I added Quakeservers.net TB3 FFA to kubus master.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mushi
Normal User


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

way 2 go hugo!

now, any1 who can set up masters, reply!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TraXo
Normal User


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I set up a master at qw.ildm6.de:27000.
The server is up 24/7 and on a 100MBit line.
_________________
TraXo.net Servers + Proxies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mars
Normal User


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:10 pm    Post subject: QW Master Server qwmaster.omegaroutes.net:27000 Reply with quote

Hi
I have set up a QuakeWorld Master Server at:
qwmaster.omegaroutes.net:27000
It is 24/7 100Mb
Server Admins please feel free to add it to your setmaster line in your server.cfg
Thanks
mars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mli
Admin (QuakeServers.net)


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice!

I added the master to QuakeServers list also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mars
Normal User


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:34 pm    Post subject: QW Master Server qwmaster.omegaroutes.net:27000 Reply with quote

Hi mli
Thanks for the addition - if the code ever gets released for QII and QIII Master Servers I would set those up as well Smile
Thanks
mars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TraXo
Normal User


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody knows how I make my QW Server (mvsdv with ktx) report to more than 1 master server? If I add more than 1 setmaster line in my server.cfg the server reports to every master the first time but after that he only reports to the last master set in the server.cfg Confused
_________________
TraXo.net Servers + Proxies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LilSweep
Normal User


Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only one line for 'setmaster' entry:

setmaster master1 master2 master3 master4

For example:

setmaster qwmaster.ocrana.de:27000 masterserver.exhale.de:27000 qw.ildm6.de:27000 kubus.rulez.pl:27000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TraXo
Normal User


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah...ok. I was sure it had to be multiple lines Rolling Eyes
_________________
TraXo.net Servers + Proxies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mars
Normal User


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Shouldn't that single line be:
setmaster qwmaster.ocrana.de:27000 masterserver.exhale.de:27000 qw.ildm6.de:27000 kubus.rulez.pl:27000 qwmaster.omegaroutes.net:27000
Smile
Thanks
mars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TraXo
Normal User


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

setmaster qwmaster.ocrana.de:27000 masterserver.exhale.de:27000 qwrealms.net:27000 kubus.rulez.pl:27000 qwmaster.omegaroutes.net:27000


qw.ildm6.de master was moved to qwrealms.net
_________________
TraXo.net Servers + Proxies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
deurk
Normal User


Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:57 am    Post subject: Help :P Reply with quote

Quote:
gcc -DDEBUG -g -Wall -rdynamic -DMASTERSERVER_LIB_DIR=\"/usr/lib/lasange/masterserver\" -c masterserver.c -o masterserver.o
masterserver.c: In function 'main':
masterserver.c:538: error: 'PTHREAD_THREADS_MAX' undeclared (first use in this function)
masterserver.c:538: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
masterserver.c:538: error: for each function it appears in.)
masterserver.c:271: warning: unused variable 'num_plugins_enabled'
make: *** [masterserver.o] Error 1


Any idea?
_________________
Quakeonline.Net Administrator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mli
Admin (QuakeServers.net)


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the same error on my Gentoo system but I couldn't figure out what was wrong. The code compiled cleanly on some other linux though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
deurk
Normal User


Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you send me a link to a compiled one?
_________________
Quakeonline.Net Administrator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.QuakeServers.net Forum Index -> Setting Up and Configuring Servers All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group